At the regularly scheduled meeting of the Fire and Police Pension Fund held on the 16th day of August 2012, President Terry Knowles presided. The meeting was held at the Pension Office, 6009 John Douglass Drive, Chattanooga, TN 37421.

The meeting convened at 0842 hours with board members Terry Knowles, Chris Willmore, Shawn O'Kelley, Corliss Cooper, Phillip McClain and Ray Ryan. Scott Fulgham was excused. Stan Sewell resigned from the Board effective August 7, 2012.

Motion by Chris Willmore and seconded by Corliss Cooper to approve the minutes from the August 2, 2012 meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board continued from last meeting, its discussion on the request of former Police Officer Ricky Ballard to eliminate the provision in CCC 2-413 that requires repayment of contributions upon being rehired. Mr. Ballard would like to return to sworn service with the City as a new hire and not be required to repay his previously withdrawn contributions. Fire Chief Randy Parker addressed the Board and stated that he does not object to former members returning to work as new hires as long as they met all other guidelines. He also stated that he doesn't want any candidates for rehire to assume that a repayment of contributions guarantees the candidate a job—persons will be employed based on a set of standards and not exclusively based on prior service. Attorney Bill Robinson stated that the requirement of contribution repayment may serve as an obstacle for the departments to hire whomever they would like to employ.

Motion by Phillip McClain and seconded by Shawn O'Kelley to approve the following membership changes: <u>REMOVE FROM THE ROLLS</u>:

1) Mildred Cooke, surviving spouse of retired Police Lieutenant Everett B. Cooke effective 08/31/2012, died 08/06/2012 (2-412)

The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Phillip McClain and seconded by Chris Willmore to pay the bills. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Corliss Cooper and seconded by Phillip McClain to adjourn at 0926 hours. Motion carried unanimously.

Terry Knowles President Chris Willmore Vice President <u>Visitors</u> Randy Parker Bill Melhorn Matthew McElhaney John Watson